Memorial Day weekend at Beech Bend Raceway is home to the NHRA sportsNATIONAL OPEN!  Over 500 racers rolled in the gates to compete for NHRA Championship Points in 10 sportsman eliminator categories.  Friday’s Test and Tune was rained out and much of Saturday was rain delayed but the track staff as well as the NHRA Safety Safari dug deep and dried the track multiple times in order to get cars roaring down the track Saturday afternoon.  Sunday greeted everyone with beautiful sunshine and 70deg weather!  When all was settled the following Champions were crowned Sunday afternoon.

Larry Hill wins the Clay Jone’s Memorial $5,000 SS/S Combo Classic!  Hill defeated Brianna Kelly in the Stock vs. Super Stocker final round.  Hill becomes only the second driver to win the race in a Stocker in the 7 year history of the race.  Past winner’s of the event include Ryan Haag(2011), Kenny Schindler(2012), Matt Forbes(2013), Michael Beard(2014), Matt Antrobius(2015), Ricky Decker(2019), Covid(2020).

Fresh off his SS/S Combo win last weekend Ryan Haag drove his ’67 Camaro to victory lane in NHRA Super Stock this weekend!  Haag defeated Don O’Malley in the final round. 

TC Morris has been on a tear this year at Beech Bend Raceway during our Quick Fuel SS/S Combo series as the points leader he has accumulated three runner-up finishes.  But this weekend he finds the dance floor and wins Stock Eliminator.  Morris recieved a break single in the final round when opponent Josh Wiseman couldn’t make the call due to parts failure the round before. 

Tyler Bohannon defeated Devin Isenhower in the Super Comp final round.  Bohannon held the starting line advantage .012rt to Isenhowers .035rt and won on a double breakout going 8.897 to Isenhower’s 8.890. 

Nathan Vrooman drove his ’91 Beretta to a Super Gas win on Sunday with a .014rt and 9.908 to knock out Ashley Cole and her ’63 Vette Roadster in the final round. 

Matt Forbes wins Super Street driving his versatile ’92 Camaro that has competed in many different categories as well Hot Rod Magazine’s Drag Week!  Forbes defeats Craig Meyer with a 10.937 lap to Meyer’s 10.973 performance.

The Race Star Wheels Pro Mod Challenge took place on Saturday for the first time ever at the NHRA SportsNATIONAL OPEN.  Judd Coffman was the #1 Qualifier clicking off a 3.717 at 210.41mph!  Coffman and Hank Stubbs from Morris, AL met up in the final round where Coffman cruised to a 3.819 at 201.79mph after Stubbs encountered tire shake and crossed the centerline.  Thank you to all the Pro Mod drivers who made the trip despite a terrible weather forecast on Saturday.  


Hunter Patton entered his first ever JEGS SuperQuick Series race on Saturday and qualified #12 in the quickest SuperQuick Field ever in the 32yr history of the series.  Patton defeated Devin Isenhower in the final round.  Philip Oakley was #1 Qualifier with an ET of 4.501sec.


In Quick Fuel Super Pro Cody Wiggins defeated a red lighting Tyler Sizemore in a door car vs. dragster final round.  Logan Jamison was the lone semi-finalist in his blown dragster.


In ATM Pro ET Mike Morris parked his ’57 Chevy on the dance floor when he beat former National Champion Tracy Crutcher in the final round.  Troy Rogers and Tyler McMillan rounded out the semi-final round.


Luke Wiseman picked up his first NHRA Wally winning the D93 Sportsman Category!  Wiseman defeated Brian Dennis in the final round.  Jerry King and Keaton Mohler were semi-finalist.


JEGS Jr. Dragster was also contested this weekend.  In the 13 & older category Hayden Clark picked up the win over NaGarren Bush in the final round.  Kory Barnes was the lone semi-finalist.


In 12&under JEGS Jr. Dragster Braxton Hodges picked up his first win!  Hodges had a starting line advantage and defeated Dellen Douglass in the final round.  Braylon Lee was the lone semi-finalist.


By | 2021-06-02T11:29:17-04:00 June 2nd, 2021|Event Results, Summit ET Series|0 Comments

About the Author:

Leave A Comment